GASD Hall of Fame induction ceremony Sept. 23

The Greater Amsterdam School District Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held on Friday, September 23, 6 p.m., at The Perthshire. Cost is $50 per person, and $40 for Legacy Team members (includes dinner).

For more information email or text or call 518-878-6374.

Academic Wing inductees

Cynci (Hawkins) Petersen – Class of 1984: Started a humanitarian organization The Hope Venture.

Jessica (Capogna) Collins – Class of 1989: Emmy Award winning actress a former Miss New York Teen USA and first runner- up Miss Teen USA.

Mary Anne Krupsak – Class of 1949: Former member of NYS Assembly and Senate as well as Lieutenant Governor.

Patricia Valiante -Class of 1973: Spent 30 years as Amsterdam High School Music Teacher and Chorus Director.

Athletic Wing inductees

Izaiah Brown – Class of 2015: Winner of 3 state and 2 federation championships, as well as the anchor of federation champion relay team.

Kyle Cotugno – Class of 1980: When he graduated, he held 9 school swimming records, some lasting 30 years.

Dave Santos – Class of 1959: Leading scorer for Amsterdam in 58-59 season and was also top scorer in the Class A League. At the time of his graduation Dave was Amsterdam’s all- time scorer.

Roger Bowman – Class of 1945: Spent 15 years in professional baseball. Most of that time was spent in the minor leagues where he won 131 games. He spent parts of 5 seasons in the major leagues.

TJ Sumigray – Class of 2008: At age 17, TJ was the youngest city golf champion in Amsterdam history. In 2007 he was NYS Junior Golf Association winner. He also has 6 lifetime holes in one.

Legacy Team

2005 NYS Football Champions: Coached by Pat Liverio and led by quarterback TJ Czeski, the team went 11-2 winning their 5th straight Section 2 title.