O’Brien named new McNulty Academy Principal

women with glasses
Tina O’Brien, new McNulty Academy Principal

The Greater Amsterdam School District has appointed Tina O’Brien as Principal of R.J. McNulty Academy effective July 1, 2022. The appointment was made by the Board of Education on June 15.

O’Brien has served as Assistant Principal at Tecler Elementary School since 2019 and has more than 20 years of experience in the field of education. O’Brien officially replaces former McNulty Principal Nicole Holehan who resigned in February to pursue other interests. Since that time, Daniel Connor has been filling in as Interim Principal at the Pre-K-grade 5 elementary school.

“We are excited to promote Tina O’Brien to this new role in our school district,” said GASD Superintendent Richard Ruberti. “She has shown strong leadership at Tecler and has been an important advocate for our students and families.”

O’Brien started her career as an intermediate teacher with the East Greenbush Central School District in 1997. She taught there for 18 years before going back to school at the College of Saint Rose and earning her educational administrative degree. From there she worked for four years as an administrator in the Lansingburgh Central School District serving as Interim Principal of Rensselaer Park Elementary School (grades 3-5), then Principal of Turnpike Elementary School (Pre-K-grade 2).

In her role as Assistant Principal at Tecler Elementary, O’Brien worked closely with staff on the Leader in Me program, which supports students in their social emotional learning. She was also a strong voice on the School Leadership Team, Attendance Committee and chairperson for 504 students (special needs) for both Tecler and Barkley Elementary Schools.

“My time here in the Greater Amsterdam School District has been one of the most rewarding experiences,” O’Brien said. “I am a fierce advocate for the best interests of all students and I pride myself on my ability to foster strong and positive working relationships with families, teachers, and other school staff.”